Bringing Yourself Up Without Pulling Yourself Down

Something I’ve noticed is that people set a goal for themselves but if they don’t reach that goal, even if they are close, they will really kick themselves down for it. I don’t see t9b92bd5727275e60b03a81fe540af82che point in that. Yes, it will make you want to do better next time but what about right now? How do you feel in that moment? Not too good, right? Ask yourself why you are doing this to yourself?

I used to do this too, but that was before I had one of my falls. Well, more then a fall it was like I was slapped in the face by reality. After reality gave me his hand and pulled me up I realized a few things; one of these things is that you should celebrate your accomplishments.Didn’t get the mark you wanted on a test? That’s okay! Be happy about the mark you did get but next time make it your goal to push yourself harder and put some extra work where it is needed. I always hear people complaining about how they only got 98% percent on a test while I’m over here doing a happy dance for getting 90%. I know that I can do better if I try harder but I am still pleased with what I got.

You are tumblr_inline_nue73ruuwj1s7v2go_500not always going to get what you want but you should celebrate what you did get. Treat yourself when you reach your goals and feel good about yourself if you do well.You won’t feel great about yourself if you keep hitting yourself when you don’t get what you want and rewarding yourself only when you reach your goals. At the end of the end of the day all you will have is a bunch of bruises and nothing to really feel happy about. After all, “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” ~Norman Vincent Peale

Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.

~Norman Peale

You also shouldn’t only have big goals, have a few small goals as well. Can’t find ever find a matching pair of socks? Make it a personal goal to wear matching socks for a month or so. Feel proud of yourself, your little victories are also part of what make you a better person. Don’t look down on them and don’t compare yourself to others. We are all different and we will all grow at different paces. At the end of the day, look at yourself and be happy with what you’ve done.

~ Little Miss Blogger xoxo

Leave a Reply

